Aircover request as guest party slept in an additional bedroom not part of the stay, where they caused damage?

Luis4816
Level 2
Newark, DE

Aircover request as guest party slept in an additional bedroom not part of the stay, where they caused damage?

Hello,

I have been hosting a room for about 10 months and have great ratings. However I recently had a group of 4 book my 2 queen bed room, however I believe one slept on the couch (which is in the shared space and according to other posts Airbnb does not care) however it gets worse. I had a larger room currently being worked on and the room's door had been placed on a barebones queen bed so that it wouldn't damage the walls or floor. The next day I come in and see the door is on the side of the bed with the hinges on the floor. Upon closer inspection the hinges made two damage spots on the brand new waterproof floor. The floor, edges with silicone, and trim have all been completed at this stage and the plank cannot be removed. Damage is also visible on the door hinge. Therefore the party of 4 decided that they were free to use the entire house and slept on an unfinished bed ( making it dirty as a mattress cannot be cleaned as easily as sheets can) and in carelessness threw the door off of it causing it to make a hard impact with a newly installed floor and compromising the water proof integrity.

This room was not to be rented out ever because the entire house will be inhabited by my family soon and having someone not only use it without permission and damage it has caused stress.

However, as a solution should I request Aircover the cost of booking two rooms? ($90 minus 6 dollars no cancellation charge, plus 5 dollar short stay cleaning minus 2.67 host service fee, was the first room's cost). Or should I also request Airbnb for rough handling of private belongings causing critical damage to integrity of a structure requiring repair on top of this?

If guests needed more beds they should have booked elsewhere.