Broken Furnace

Answered!

Broken Furnace

I am new to hosting, and I just got my first longer term guest (2 months). The furnace pilot light went out and I went over to fix it as soon as they messaged me. If it does keep going out, as it went out for my last guest too, is there anything the guest can do legally, or is their only option is cancel/ask for a refund? 

They mentioned moving here and they have a lot of stuff in the unit, if the furnace does officially go out and I request to move them, am I required to pay to move their stuff they brought as they would require a UHaul to move out.

If this helps, this was their last message to me and I don't know how to take it.

"if you can see it. just fyi, of course you probably only thought about yourself, trying to get the last breath out of your hvac system, hoping it'd last you one more winter. this could be hugely costly to me. my hourly rate is $59.7. anytime I need to take from work is that amount *8. also there is uhual costs. I have my belongings from Virginia here, thinking I'd have them here until I buy a new home. then there is mover cost, there are things in here I cannot move myself"

1 Best Answer
Fred13
Level 10
Placencia, Belize

@Brandon731  By your post it is logical to assume that they are already aggressive and accusatory.

It may hurt, but a firm decision must be made, if you feel this potential problem may become a show stopper, by them staying you are inviting not only to loose the income, but also opening a hassle about their 'stuff', plus a heart attack trying to please these people. As is they are using your place as lodging and storage of their personal belongings.  I would be stone-cold direct with them - we will try this, if it doesn't work, you will be moving out. They will have a tough time collecting beyond the lodging fees.