Cancelling a guest--Is it worth it?

Answered!
Nur785
Level 10
Jersey City, NJ

Cancelling a guest--Is it worth it?

Dear Experienced Hosts, 

I could use some advice based on your experiences. I am new to hosting. So here is the situation I am in right now. 

A guest send me an inquiry telling me my price was too high and if I would lower the fees for her.  I declined her query by saying these kinds of requests to go outside make me uncomfortable and I am sure you can find something within in your price range. I also reported the message. 

She was, then, able to book those dates anyway. I've learned the hard way, declining an inquiry is not enough to stop someone to instant book. Furthermore, I have 'good track record' instant booking, this guest has 2 trips and no reviews, but she was still able to book it. 

I contacted airbnb and didn't get any help. Is it too much to ask for someone who actually can write in proper English grammar so that I understand what they are saying? 

Anyway, I think they asked the guest to cancel, so the guest sent me this message now: 

"I am not cancelling it as I have agreed to pay whatever you are charging. So I don't understand why you are having a problem now?"

So this is already a bad start to host someone. I can't imagine what it's going to be like while she is here with her parent for a week. 

I think my options are to let it go and she will come and probably find issue at everything and leave a bad review OR I can cancel and take the penalty of canceling. I was just on my way to super host, kiss that goodbye but not deal with a bad review?

So potential bad experience that started bad with a potentially problem guest vs. the penalty of canceling with the guest and having that time frame blocked. 

Her trip is not until May 29th . So, what do you guys think? I could really use some advice. 

1 Best Answer
Debbie210
Level 10
Huntington Beach, CA

Hello Nur785.