Do you iron sheets?

Answered!
Angie601
Level 4
Victoria, Australia

Do you iron sheets?

Hi everyone

I'm new to hosting with my little cottage being listed for the past 3 months.

I want my guests to enjoy a 5 star stay so I take particular care with my bedding and I iron my linens.

My friends tell me I'm crazy and some that are also hosts tell me just to iron the top of the sheets that guests see.

I'm interested to know what others do.

Thank you for your feedback. 

Angie

2 Best Answers
Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

I'm all for ironing, all top quality cotton. But this discussion has been had in great depth before, there are several long threads on it.  Many hosts will think it's insane to iron but you do you. Guests will adore it. 

View Best Answer in original post

@Angie601 "I also touch up when I put the sheet on the bed"

As you're a new host, I will check in with you about a year from now, to see if you are still ironing the sheets. 😉

View Best Answer in original post

25 Replies 25
Sandra126
Level 10
Daylesford, Australia

I'm all for ironing, all top quality cotton. But this discussion has been had in great depth before, there are several long threads on it.  Many hosts will think it's insane to iron but you do you. Guests will adore it. 

Thanks Sandra, I'm going to continue to iron. I'm passing through Hepburn on Friday to buy a second-hand ironing press to make it a little easier 😄

I think you should definitely iron sheets, pillow cases and covers even if it’s only to kill all of the germs.  

Colleen253
Level 10
Alberta, Canada

No I don't iron (generally, duvet cover and fitted sheets only). My guests don't seem to care.

Ps, I read a great tip from (if memory serves)  @Robin4. He lays the flat sheet on the bed and irons it there. 

I also touch up when I put the sheet on the bed but I find you can't do the sides of the fitted sheet successfully when they are on the mattress