Renting out entire home for the first time

Answered!
Scott1218
Level 1
Moscow, ID

Renting out entire home for the first time

Hi, I've been a host for several years, however this is my first time renting out my entire home. I put most of my things in my garage, left plenty of space in dressers and my closet to hang clothes. I'm even staying in the apartment attached to it and have security cameras outside.  I have several thousands of dollars worth of autographed sports memorabilia that covers my living room walls. If i take them down, it's gonna be pretty bare in here.  Should I take them all down?  I'm a 49ers fan so it's mostly larger items like framed Montana and Rice jerseys. I was also contemplating doing a recorded video walk through when the guests arrive. Basically to show what I have in my home and there are no holes or damage to the walls or floors.  Is that something I should do? Seems if someone damaged my place they could just deny it and I'm screwed.  I'm really surprised there isn't some sort of sign off when guests arrive that every thing is in working order when they arrived and some sort of inventory,  like tvs in the rooms, living room, etc.

I have a 4 bedroom home, 2 levels and it says 4 guests staying for 3 nights. Thanks for any advice!

1 Best Answer
Helen744
Level 10
Victoria, Australia