Refund Requests after check-in

Ann35053
Level 2
Dalkeith, Australia

Refund Requests after check-in

Hi all

I'm very new to Hosting and was just contacted by a current guest, requesting to change their reservation with a full refund of the remaining nights due to a sudden death in their family.

I asked them to go through the formal AirBnB process and a short while later, I received a formal refund request, which according to AirBnB is up to me to accept or decline. I'm hoping that someone can give me some advice here - will I take the hit and approve this? I don't want to get stung with a bad review and want to be reasonable... is it common that guests want to change their stays after their check in and asks hosts to override the usual cancellation policy?

Thanks in advance!

13 Replies 13
Gillian166
Level 10
Hay Valley, Australia

@Ann35053  oh it's a tricky one because sometimes guests lie..... and if it's genuine you want to be empathetic but at the same time it's not your fault this happened, so why do you have to take the financial hit? 

What you can do is offer a refund if you are able to re-book the cancelled nights. A partial refund, keep it vague because you might have to discount to get rebooked. You don't have to refund the airbnb fees, and I don't think abb refund that part anyway.  

the good news is that friday/saturday is easy to rebook. 

Huma0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Ann35053 

You are right to be cautious about this. It is possible that if you accept the request it will be logged as a host cancellation, the same as if the guest sent you the request (if a guest wants to cancel, they should do it and face the penalties, not you!). 

I would follow @Gillian166 's advice here.