Renting upstairs space in our home near the beach

Deborah1558
Level 1
Trappe, PA

Renting upstairs space in our home near the beach

Hello,

I have been hosting on Airbnb for about 9 years, and now we have a 4 bedroom home with 3 full bathrooms.  It's only the two of us now, and  we mainly live on the first floor.  The two rooms upstairs have a (jack and jill)  bathroom between them.  I'm considering renting the two rooms upstairs (which are a bit away from our living space) on Airbnb.  

My question is:  How awkward is it to have strangers living in your house on a weekly (or weekend) basis.  

If you are doing this, renting rooms in your personal home, how's it going?  Do you love/hate it?  I do have a friend who rents airbnbs in people's home when she's traveling and seems to enjoy it.  

I also want to offer activities such as doing a drive on beach day, paddleboarding, kayaking or even a boat excursion in our little boat.

Thank you for any input!

Deb

6 Replies 6
Marie8425
Level 10
Buckeye, AZ

@Deborah1558 

I have 3 Guest rooms usually rented to 3 different people haha.  It will depend on your personalities, my husband is the more flexible and I am  more the rules but we navigate nicely to the middle. lol  

What I found very helpful because cuts down on invasion of our kitchen, Amazon had 2 door mini fridges and  a very  nice but not cluttering food cabinet that I put in each room.  Because mine are mostly  long term I do have a  full size fridge they can share.  I am a coffee addict lol, so I offer my Keurig in the kitchen or if  they prefer drip or electric kettle in  the room.

When I did rooms in Hawaii most tourists arrive late  at  night now in Arizona all Check ins by 7pm.  You  need to know how is the typical  guest arriving?  

One thing I do now because I got burnt, no unnamed guests.  Everyone has to have an Airbnb account.  I  have electronic locks  but I don't  tell code until I  have viewed everyone's legal ID