Considering making my AirBnB pet friendly - best way to handle pet fee

Jessica3441
Level 2
Appleton, WI

Considering making my AirBnB pet friendly - best way to handle pet fee

Hello!  I am fairly new with my AirBnB (8 months) and have a beachfront home in Costa Rica.   I started out in the high season and have done extremely well with bookings  (yay!).  Now that it's low season, there are less Americans traveling but it still is desirable for those in Costa Rica to head to the beach for a weekend to surf and hang out.  In the low season (Sept - Nov), where I don't yet have any bookings, I think I could increase bookings by being open to accepting 1-2 dogs.  From my understanding through AirBnB I would need to charge one flat fee and it's spread out as a nightly fee.  ideally I'd like to add the fee after they book so I can charge it as a per night fee (example $25/dog per night) after I share the pet agreement with them.  

1. What do you think is a reasonable per night pet fee?  Being on the beach I know there will be a mess of sand in the house + wear & tear + fur on furniture, stains, etc.  

2. Is your preference to add it through AirBnB fee upfront or as a reservation change based on # nights?  Can you explain why for each scenerio?  

Thanks!

13 Replies 13
Razvan46
Level 2
Pรขngฤƒrฤƒcior, Romania

Hello,

I think a per night pet fee or per stay pet fee is a marketing matter.

Guests reacts different on each situation. However you have to accept compromise,money against "**bleep**".Just imagine,your pet guest check ouศ› at 11.00 a.m and the next no pet guest will check รฎn at 15.00 p.m. same day.

Are you able to clean everything รฎn due time?

Personally, I have friendly & educated pets(1 dog and 4 cats) and my guests play with them for free and even more my pets can accompany them all the way through the wild forest.

All the best,

Razvan,Romania