May 31 Update Impact on Host

Anita1091
Level 2
Bendigo, Australia

May 31 Update Impact on Host

Hi all,

I am quite new to hosting on Air Bnb and would love your feedback on a recent issue I had.  I tested positive for covid and had a guest staying in my separate cottage and a new guest arriving in a couple of days.  According to Vic, Australia's govt regulations, I was required to isolate in my home. I was not permitted to clean my cottage (fair enough!).   I hadn't realised that the May 31 update meant that I could not cancel the upcoming guest without incurring a $100 fee.  (I checked with Air Bnb and it is definiteley what they would have done.)  I suggested to the guest that she cancel as it was 2 days away and I adjusted my policy so she could cancel with a full refund. She decided to come 😞

This meant I had to scramble to find someone to come round and clean the cottage for me. A commercial cleaner would have been too expensive, particularly at such short notice and a Sat morning.  I only add $20 for cleaning to my listing, so can't afford a whole lot on paying a cleaner...

Do you all have someone as "back-up" to do a clean for you????   Obviously, this issue is highly unlikely to ever happen again as hopefully getting covid is a one time thing for me. 

Thanks for anyone who can share some wisdom here.

6 Replies 6
Kate867
Level 10
Canterbury, United Kingdom