Early check-in/late check-out

Early check-in/late check-out

Hello all, I am new to hosting and this is actually my first post in this community.  I have found alot of helpful advice on this forum but haven't been able to find the exact answer to this question so my apologies if it has been asked already.  I have been asked several times already for an early check-in/late check-out.  Where exactly would this fee be added if a guest requests it?  Can it be added AFTER a guest has already booked/paid and if so how do they pay it?  I see several fees that can be added but those are not listed.  

TIA!

Leah

17 Replies 17
Richard531
Level 10
California, United States

@Leah502 Most guests will ask for early/late check in/outs.  Once you actually start operating at a reasonable level, you will not want to be in the business of feilding these requests every day.  

If you want to grant them for a fee, you simply have the guest agree to the fee you outline, then "change" the reservation for that additional amount and the submit it back to the guest for approval/payment.  You absolutely want to do this before check in day.

@Richard531 I did attempt to do just that..."change the reservation for that additional amount and submit back to the guest for approval/payment"....but I could never seem to figure out how much the guest paid total for the stay (that includes taxes and their fees).  I could only find what I was going to receive in a host payout.  Seems like once the guest has checked in I am able to see all that information, but not prior.  Of course, I'm so new to all this perhaps I just don't know where to go to find the right info. 

I'm guessing if they have already paid and checked in and then don't check-out at the agreed upon time, we as hosts are just out of luck?

M199
Level 10
South Bruce Peninsula, Canada

@Leah502 

We no longer allow early check-in or late check outs.

We have in the past and never had a good result from guests.