Windows must have curtains/blinds?

Cindy1603
Level 1
New York, NY

Windows must have curtains/blinds?

I am new to being an Airbnb Host. Someone who has been a host for a long time told me that every single windows in my house need to install curtains/blinds? Is this a real Airbnb rule? I tried looking online to find this rule but I couldn’t find any related guidelines. 

12 Replies 12
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Cindy1603 I don't think it is a rule but common sense dictates all bedroom windows and many others will need blinds/curtains.

Patricia2526
Level 10
Manila, Philippines

Hello @Cindy1603 

Guests value their privacy, and curtains help prevent outsiders from looking into the property. :Heavy curtains can help dampen outside noise, providing a quieter and more relaxing environment for guests.  Curtains offer guests the ability to control the amount of light and visibility, catering to individual preferences.

@Cindy1603 

Good question!  It totally depends on your location,  imho.

For example - We have no curtains, at all.

We are in the wilderness with our nearest neighbor a mile away. No one can see into our house unless they are airborne, like the birds who fly past us regularly.

Our house is all glass, what we call a "fishbowl" and there is total privacy between our part of the house and the guest wing. We are a dark sky location, where we love seeing stars, planets and the Milky Way. Sunrises and sunsets are amazing here. If a guest wants blackout conditions, they need to choose a different location.

If you are in an urban situation where privacy is an issue, you might consider window coverings where important. 

Our guests come here for the experience of "being outdoors" even while in the house. If your situation is at all like ours, definitely use it as an advantage for guests who will love it. 

I hope this is helpful.

Emilia42
Level 10
Orono, ME

@Cindy1603