Airbnb Interior Design

Isabella410
Level 2
Oregon, United States

Airbnb Interior Design

Hi everyone,

I'm Isabella, and I'm a small business owner with dreams of opening up an Airbnb in the next few years. I currently work as a residential interior designer and have had a few questions on social media from Airbnb owners looking for tips.

I'm curious if any owners on here have ever used an interior designer, or if it's something you would consider. I do residential design, so my website and brand is really built around that. I'm debating offering airbnb design services, but not sure if there's really a market for it, or if you all prefer to design things yourselves?

If you have thought about hiring an interior designer for your Airbnb, what are some things that would be important to you? Local to your area? Flat fee? Etc.

I'm not sharing my website / company name here because I don't want this to come off as a self-promotion - genuinely just looking for some more information and any tips you all could give me.

Thank you in advance!

Isabella Stephens

10 Replies 10
Lorna170
Level 10
Swannanoa, NC

@Isabella410   You may want to look at social media to see if there is a local AirBnB group that you can "talk" to. 

As far as what a new host may want, I have seen a lot of posts from hosts who need advice or someone to furnish their listing.  If you can provide various levels of service, from a critique to a full refurnish, you will probably make a lot of hosts happy. 

I once paid to have a local "designer" critique my property -- it was interesting as she hated everything about the shabby chic rustic cabin and gave me an expensive upscale metro industrial refurnish design to implement -- I thanked her for her services and just kept on with some nicer linens.

Thank you for the advice @Lorna170 . That's great to note that you've worked with someone in a similar way - sorry to hear they didn't do the best job!