Guest Questions

Beverly213
Level 2
Omaha, NE

Guest Questions

I'm new to Airbnb hosting. Currently, my home is listed for Instabook. I have 9 bookings so far and only 2 have a profile. I can't find anything about my guest other than their name and phone number-is this normal?

Also, my home is listed for 8 people. I have security cameras at the front door and garage. What do I do if more than 8 people sleepover? How do you decide if you should even do anything at all? What options do I have?

New Host Beverly

9 Replies 9

@Beverly213  You don't have to use Instant Book (I don't recommend it for newer hosts), and also you can change the settings so that only guests with verified ID and positive reviews may use that feature. The rest will send requests.

It's normal that new and unreviewed listings attract a higher share of first-time guests, partly because the savvier guests are wary of scams and aim for listings with established reputations. But new listings are also magnets for dodgy bookings, including people planning unauthorized parties. With a home as spacious and affordable as yours, you'll have to be extremely vigilant against that. 

Your House Rules should specify that no unregistered guests/visitors are permitted on the property at any time. If you catch someone breaking that rule, it's better to terminate the booking and remove the entire group than to wait it out and increase the odds that it will spiral into a situation out of your control.

Beverly213
Level 2
Omaha, NE

Thanks, Andrew for your info. I will check that out more thoroughly. What can be done if more guests show up/sleep than permitted?