Host privacy

Rossana121
Level 3
Biel/Bienne, Switzerland

Host privacy

Hello everyone, I'm new at hosting (started in February) but I have experience as a guest.

Being now fresh on the other side, I'm seeking out for advices.

As a guest I was utterly respectful of the fact that I was actually in someone else's home, making every effort to stay out of their way as much as I could, barely interacting for fear of being out of boundaries and always keeping to myself staying in my room.

I got great reviews for this (and my being very clean).

My first guest was apparently not of the same type. At times I was under the impression that he considered me as part of the package, at his disposal for any kind of request.

My living room is not a shared area. It's actually a separated room that you don't go through, so I put on a heavy curtain to have privacy in the evening when I lie on the couch, maybe in my pj. It's also where I fall asleep in the evening in front of the tv. 

So, even though I share my kitchen for my guests to warm up their meals, I expect them to respect my spaces as much as I respect theirs.

This guy would start awkward conversations at 6.30 in the morning, out on the balcony, where I was having my coffee and a cigarette, with me barely being able to connect yet.

Or would call me through the curtain while I was having my earned evening relax time.

It was once 9.30 PM, he called saying "may I ask for your service?" and that was the time I really got upset. I was about to fall asleep, in my pj,  and he basically came knocking on my closed door.

Regretfully I answered in a less than polite manner (apologized the next day).

I felt sort of violated in my privacy.

I'd like your opinion on the matter because I never thought that hosting would mean giving up my right to privacy and being at one's disposal all the time.

I offer a very nice place to stay and a lot of comfortable amenities, non my friendship.