LA home sharing certificate

Kelli371
Level 1
Los Angeles, CA

LA home sharing certificate

I am new to hosting, and my space is currently under construction.  But, in the attempt to get knowledgable and ready, I starting poking around the AIrbnB site to start my property's profile, etc.  I got to a certain point and it said that due to my address, I'm require to get a LA home sharing certificate, and after doing so, I"m to return to the site with the number before being able to proceed.     So, of course, I follow the link provided by Airbnb, I fill out the application and send in $189.    A couple weeks later I got an email denying my application because they could see that 1- the space is still under construction and 2- a certificate of occupancy is required, and I didn't have one yet.  

Fine, I thought, I'm too early, I'll circle back later, but guess what?  LA City is refusing to refund the money I sent to them.    

I was simply wishing to get the airbnb site up and ready, while keeping it inactive until I really can begin hosting.    

The purpose of this comment is to let you know I think it's **bleep**ty that airbnb has that as a step that is needed before a host can actually look around and get to know the hosting site before they are ready to start hosting.    So I have a couple months more before construction is finished, and I could be learning more about airbnb, but I can't until after the property is ready to share.

3 Replies 3
Helen3
Top Contributor
Bristol, United Kingdom

Yes it's a shame you decided to apply  for a license before your property was eligible for one. No reason the city should return your application fee. @Kelli371 

Nothing to stop you doing your market research around supply and demand/what your competitors offer/ how Airbnb and other platforms work /how you want to decorate /furnish to appeal to guests you've identified as your target market . 

Mike-And-Jane0
Top Contributor
England, United Kingdom