Third Party bookings

Third Party bookings

Hi. I am very confused because Airbnb support keep contradicting themselves but don't acknowledge it!

They say third party bookings on personal accounts are not allowed.

They say third party bookings are accepted at discretion of host.

They say they do not encourage third party bookings.

So it seems what they're saying is third party bookings ARE allowed provided host approves but it's not encouraged.

They say Airbnb insurance cover IS still valid. I'm not convinced because I've read many forum discussions which say

it's invalidated.

I'm new to hosting and so far my experiences with support team is inconsistent, contradictory, they cherry pick which questions to answer/disregard and more often than not provide a response which is an answer to a question I haven't asked!

Anyway, I was trying to understand why a host's cancellation policy applies when he/she was not informed in advance it was third party booking (i.e. only discovered during check-in). The person who made booking has a duty to inform Airbnb/host in advance (despite it being not allowed...). If this is not communicated in advance, then penalty is threat of possible future account suspension (per support team).