Community Spotlight: Caroline1094

Bhumika
Community Manager
Community Manager
Toronto, Canada

Community Spotlight: Caroline1094

Bhumika_0-1692037589409.png

Hello Everyone,

We gladly present this month’s spotlight Caroline (@Caroline1094) , who is a Superhost and Community Leader of the Dorset, England, local Host Community. Apart from being an Airbnb Host, Caroline is a designer and works in the TV and Film industry. Let us know more about her Hosting journey!

Bhumika_1-1692037589423.png

How long have you been hosting, and why did you first start?

I have been hosting for four years. I first started because we lived in a remote village with only one pub with rooms and family and friends of neighbours often came to visit and there was nowhere to stay. We had a big house with a ground-floor bedroom/bathroom so hosting seemed obvious. I found it more fun and interesting than I expected and provided breakfast (below) which was a great way to meet guests.  When we moved to the coast I was keen to continue hosting, so we bought a little flat 100m from the sea and designed and furnished it with the sole intention of having a dedicated Airbnb business to add to our income.

Bhumika_2-1692037589426.jpeg

Tell us a little about your listing.

It is a self-contained apartment in a holiday complex that was built in 1964. Marcus, my husband and I decorated and furnished it in the mid-century style that was popular when it was built (and again now) and made it as holidaymaker user-friendly as we could. We travel a lot for fun and for work, so have a good grasp of what works for a short stay in winter and summer. It has two bedrooms, a bathroom and a big open living/ kitchen space. We added a workspace with good light and lots of plug sockets. There is a big safe communal garden and it is a two-minute walk to the first beach. My favourite features are the vertical blinds I designed to look like a giant deckchair and the super efficient little kitchen.