Festival of Hospitality 2023šŸ” Celebrating the 4th annual Festival of Hospitality

Festival of Hospitality 2023šŸ” Celebrating the 4th annual Festival of Hospitality

Host Meet Up in London, July 2023Host Meet Up in London, July 2023

Dear Host community,

As I am sure you know, weā€™re celebrating our fourth annual Festival of Hospitality here in the Community Center, and Iā€™m so happy to be joining you - as a Host! For those of you who are new to this festival, it recognises the incredible experiences our Hosts create for guests around the world and showcases the amazing connections you are building. 

This is my first year Hosting and inviting guests into my home. It brings me an immense sense of joy, fulfillment and, I have to admit, a healthy dose of trepidation. It has been wonderful hearing about their lives and most interestingly, why they travel and why they choose my place. 

I have only just started Hosting, so I am a newbie compared to so many experienced Hosts in this community. In the spirit of the Festival, I wanted to share some of my tips! I am very focused on the welcome. Our guesthouse is next to our home, so either my husband (aka my Co-Host) or I will greet our guests personally. I also want my guests to know we have thought of them whenever they walk into our place. We like to put out a bowl of lemons and oranges from our garden, or light a fire if it is particularly cold (which isn't often in Los Angeles, but it does happen). My husband/Co-Host wrote an incredibly detailed guidebook with a ton of local recommendations, which he loves to emphasize whenever he can! We also have a lot of games and it is great to see when they are used and appreciated.

It is so energizing to see our community come together. As a Host amongst you, I want to thank you for sharing your stories, tips and learnings. In my role as Global Head of Hosting, I also want to thank you sincerely for all that you do to make our community flourish and excel. 

Warmly,