Festival of Hospitality 2023๐Ÿก How Hosting on Airbnb Makes the World Smaller

Marielle135
Host Advisory Board Member
Chรขtillon-en-Dunois, France

Festival of Hospitality 2023๐Ÿก How Hosting on Airbnb Makes the World Smaller

This post is co-authored by Host Advisory Board members @Marielle135  and @Delphine348  from France, and @Tatiya0  from Thailand. Learn more about the Host Advisory Board.

Marielle:  Airbnb has revolutionized the way people travel, forging connections that span the globe and transcending traditional accommodations. With its innovative platform, Airbnb has helped facilitate cultural exchange, promote local economies, and foster a sense of belonging for travelers. Hosting, wherever you live, is like traveling without moving. Delphine, Tatiya, and I first met through the Host Advisory Board and have been going on this trip for different periods.

I have been hosting on Airbnb for more than 7 years. I live in the French countryside in the middle of wheat fields. Itโ€™s a little village that locals wouldnโ€™t have likely considered an interesting destination for travelers. And here we are  two listings as a Host, and three listings as a Co-Host later. Hosting has made people in my village realize we are not in the middle of nowhere but in the middle of somewhere.

Somewhere people traveling to or  from holidays like to stop. Somewhere families or friends, despite the distance, choose to catch up. Somewhere locals can accommodate their families if their place is too small to organize a large event. Hosting has not only enriched my way of looking at the world but has also enabled me to have a look at the world coming together.