If I'm set for Keysafe, can I do a last minute Meet & greet?

Answered!

If I'm set for Keysafe, can I do a last minute Meet & greet?

Hello community, I come to you since I can't find anything online regarding this.

I'm new to airbnb hosting, been hosting an apartment in Portugal since Dec 20th, 2019, and finally got my first booking (so happy :D). I have a keysafe option on the listing to avoid late meet & greets but since they are arriving at noon on a Saturday, I decided to tell them that I would meet them at the property (so I can  know them and to get some experience in meeting guests). My surprise, the guest got mad because I decided to meet them and is threatning to cancel the reservation because it's not the conditions he have chosen and that he specially looked for a property with self check-in option.  Not really sure if this reaction is normal or not, but since I've been reading about guests' scams  in the past few days, a lot of thoughts have come to mind such as: is he who he says he is? the apartment has 2 bedrooms and can accomodate up to 4 people, yet the reservation is for a couple, is it normal for a couple to rent a 2 bedroom property to use only one bedroom? or perhaps more than 2 people will be staying at the property? I live by the beach and it's winter in this region so prices are low, but still..

I read somewhere online (on this forum or perhaps on Airhost forum don't remember and I can't find the post) that if I'm unsure about a guest, I'm within my right to do a key exchange in person even if I was set for remote access, but I've been looking the Airbnb policy  and on Google to find information regarding this and can't find any, perhaps m,y search keywords are not the best, I don't know. If anyone knows if this is actually in Airbnb's policy or if you could send me a direct link to the policy that talk about changing last minute property access from keysafe to meet and greet, I would really appreciate.
Thanks

1 Best Answer
Paul1255