Refund Refusal: Coronavirus Cancellation

David-W-1
Level 2
Accra, Ghana

Refund Refusal: Coronavirus Cancellation

Hello! I'm an international school teacher currently stuck in Ghana due to the travel ban. I lost my job because of the pandemic and the school year is over. I originally thought I was going to have to vacate my school apartment until I could get out of the country and so I made an Airbnb reservation. However, the school changed its mind and is now going to let me stay in my school apartment to keep me safe from, among other things, the coronavirus. I made a "coronavirus cancellation" with the Airbnb host but he outright refuses to refund my money! I am hoping to get my money back, of course, but I can't help but wonder: Is this the kind of person Airbnb wants as a host? 

15 Replies 15
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@David-W-1 Of course the other point of view is does Airbnb want the sort of person who ignores hosts cancellation policies to be a guest?

At the end of the day you willingly entered into a contract when you made your booking so what is unfair about the host refusing to refund?

I've muted you two. 😉

Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA

@David-W-1 What do you mean by “coronavirus cancellation”? Did you specifically select the coronavirus option on your reason for cancellation? If so Airbnb is generally refunding those without regard to host cancellation policies, but Airbnb’s own policy on this has been inconsistent and frequently changing. If you can reach Airbnb by phone or chat you may be able to get a refund— to your host’s detriment of course.

Yes, I selected "coronavirus cancellation." I'll be contacting Airbnb by phone. Thanks! 

Mark116
Level 10
Jersey City, NJ