The free infant thing

Amanda660
Level 10
Auchenblae, United Kingdom

The free infant thing

Yesterday after departing guests left a bin full of honking nappies, rug smooshed  with coco pops and every surface smeared with ‘?’ I decided to change my setting to no longer accept  free ‘infants’ and go with age 2 and above. 

Today I get a booking request for a couple with a child and an ‘infant’.  I replied that we don’t host under 2s and that’s why it came through as a request and not as a instant booking.  He came back to me to say that the  ‘infant’ would be 23 months at the time of stay and would I reconsider. 

I’m in a quandary - I really don’t want the extra clean up for nothing but how do I convey this to the would-be Booker without sounding completely mercenary?

44 Replies 44

@Gillian166  Most people see infant and think baby, or not walking.

but my day job is teaching dyslexic students to read and an interesting thread came up recently discussing the Latin roots for the word infant. In- not. Fant: speak. Infant: not speaking human. 

so, by that mark abb’s 24-35 month cutoff is way too old. An infant is sub 9-12 months, after that you have a toddler and that’s a whole different animal. Happy Mother’s Day everyone. 

@Kelly149 
I totally agree, a walking, talking person is NOT an infant.

I have had several guests say they are coming with "babies" and try not to add them on the reservation - and the "baby" is 3 years old, running jumping and shouting!

As a result I have switched off "suitable for children" on all of my listings, and if I get a trip request, I ASK FOR THE BIRTH DATES so that they can't cheat.

However, the Airbnb definition seems to be travel industry standard for example for airplanes - they let you take an "infant" on your lap for free - a two year old!!!

If you are booking a flight and planning on holding your 2 year old on your lap the whole time, you better not be sitting next to me!