Cancellations

Jamie37
Level 1
Palm Springs, CA

Cancellations

Hi! I'm brand new to Airbnb as a host.  I live in the Coachella Valley in California, and have decided to rent my house out for weekends, which includes many of the big music festivals here.  I've been told that people rent their houses out for the weekend for up to $2,000.  I made my 4 bedroom, 3 bath house available for the festival weekends for $499 a night.  Well, I'm not sure what happened, but someone instant booked for a Coachella weekend for $299 a night (that's my price for weekends in the summer when not as many people want to visit the desert).  I have no idea what happened, I was positive I made those weekends $499.  I messaged the guest and explained, and he didn't even give the courtesy to respond to me.  I amended the reservation to $499, and he declined, but still kept his reservation (he's getting a steal).  So...I messaged him again and offered a compromise of $399 a night, and amended.  He has again not responded.  Now I'm starting to feel uncomfortable.  I don't want this person staying in my house.  He says there's only 4 people, but who knows.  And now I feel like he doesn't agree with me and may bring more people, not be respectful of my house, etc...I thought about just cancelling and taking the penalty of not being able to book for that weekend, but I could potentially be out $1500 (the house will for sure get rented out by someone).  I was wondering if I could cancel and state that the guest is making me uncomfortable and not be penalized.  I read something about doing that but I wanted to see what others have done in these situations.  Thanks!

5 Replies 5
Mike77
Level 10
Bend, OR

Turn off Instant booking.

Contact AirBnB and tell them your problem.  Telling us your problem does nothing to fix it.

If you don't know how to contact AirBnB, Google it.

Mike
AirBnB Treehouse for Rent
https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/7292887

Zandra0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom