How to free up customer support? Empower hosts!

Susan1188
Level 10
Marbella, Spain

How to free up customer support? Empower hosts!

Screenshot 2020-08-26 at 18.19.31.png

I have found myself calling and texting client support way too much recently.  No wonder they are overloaded, if everyone is doing like me.

Why, I asked myself yesterday, do I need to involve CS in everything?  I concluded the reason is: current Airbnb policies remove all empowerment of hosts.

As a 52 year old multiple property owner, I've been managing short term rentals for 27 years and certainly know how to deal with 95% of the issues that can arise. 

Yet airbnb :

- does not let me help a guest cancel for valid reasons, refunding 100% (vrbo lets us do this)

- does not let me enforce my cancellation policy, when I know a guest is being dishonest

- does not let me zap a small percentage of outlier bad reviews - I am sure a huge number of CS calls are due to the unfair review system

- does not let me change dates at the guest's request for a mutually agreed price (airbnb forces the price for date changes)

- discourages me from meeting guests in person, getting ID, refusing bookings of guests who show signs of trouble from the start - all of these things would reduce problems and reduce calls to CS - pushing self check-in, no ID collection, strict statistics on accepting bookings even if they clearly violate house rules..

- hides important information from hosts such as, how many hosts gave thumbs down, how many times did the guest get a refund, how many times did the GUEST cancel last minute

If hosts were empowered and able to take control over these things, a huge number of calls to client support would be avoided.