Previous positive reviews

Brook2
Level 2
Bloomington, IN

Previous positive reviews

I have been hosting for a few months and I state in my listing that I currently only accept bookings from guests with previous positive reviews. I've been getting flack about this from potential guests. Is there a setting where they can't book with me unless they have positive reviews so I don't need to say it? Or am I being too overly cautious? I rent my entire photo studio and I worry someone will steal my equipment.
5 Replies 5
Bobby6
Level 1
Cresskill, NJ

I agree we also face similar problems where people book for 10 and comes in 100 and we cannot be there in property to check every time . Now we have been trying to be very particular about choosing the guests . 1000 deposit is nothing and even that insurance does not pay for damage .
Maria-Lurdes0
Level 10
Union City, NJ

Hi @Brook2 I've been hosting for 6+ years and I think that you are being too cautious.    90% of my business is from new guests (as in signed up in the month they make the inquiry).    In six years, with over 1400 review, I've had extremely isolated instances of any problem, and honestly it's usually been a domestic traveler that books because they want a place to crash.  I've had a German family or a Swedish couple leave a very messy place, but actual theft is never something that I worry about personally.   I don't live in my my listings, but I still have lots of things that can be stolen, including laptops in most of my places.

Of course you have a different situation - but some things that maybe could work (sorry if I'm stating the absolutely obvious):

**Conversations with potential inquiring guests where you mention important house rules and conditions of bookings.  This will all be in the description, which nobody reads.

**Increase of security deposit