Security Deposit claim for damages & extra cleaning.

Paul175
Level 2
Vancouver, Canada

Security Deposit claim for damages & extra cleaning.

I have been renting out our vacation place for 19 months now and generally it has been a great set up for me  and the 58 groups we have hosted, until recently.

Recently we had a group that was smoking in our place, which is against our House Rules.

They left cigarette butts around the place and our place stunk.

The cleaner took photos to document what had happened, and the next guest also contacted me to let me know about the smell (Fortunately she was very understanding and I sent her a bottle of wine)

Even though smoking is clearly against the rules and I had independent evidence Airbnb refused to withold their damage deposit.

With nearly 60 stays at our place, I have only gone to the resolution centre twice so its not like I go after damage deposits regularly.

Airbnb said that my place wasn't physically damaged, but thats just not true as cigarette smoke seeps into the walls, carpets and furniture.

I am a resonable person and accept wear and tear on our place, but Airbnbs response to this smoking really annoyed me.

Has anyone else had this problem?

Paul

8 Replies 8
Italo2
Level 2
Wörgl, Austria

Hi Paul,

Sorry to hear about the bad experience.

I haven't had a similar case but by my understanding, if you haven't suffered a damage/costs, you won't be able to put a claim.

If they had burned some of your furniture by smoking inside the house, made the walls black due to smoke, etc... This would require repair and therefore a claim would be valid.

While I'm a non smoker and wouldn't like anyone smoking inside my apartment, I'm pretty confident that leaving the windows opened for some hours will do the job.

Your best resource is to leave a bad review to your guest... Money, I doubt.

Good luck!
Sean---Enrique0
Level 3
Niagara Falls, NY