Soiled Sheets and Toilet Seat. Reviewing guests with poo problems?

Cori6
Level 2
Wilmington, NC

Soiled Sheets and Toilet Seat. Reviewing guests with poo problems?

I'm relatively new to Airbnb and recently had an elderly couple (mid 60s?) rent our place for one night. When I went in to clean after their check out the door was not locked nor was it pulled all the way closed. I guess its possible they could've had trouble with the electronic lock? The room smelled a bit like a public restroom so I went to the bathroom to find a light but large smearing of poop all over the back half of the toilet and it appeared as though one of them might have at least used the toilet brush to clean the bowl. Clorox wipes were available but had not been used to clean the seat. It's possible that they did not think to read the note left for them with the location of everything in the apartment (including the clorox wipes) and were unaware of their exsistence. There were also a few "leakage" spots on the sheets two of which were substantial enough to go through to the mattress protector. The stains have come out of the sheets but the protector after disinfecting, spot treatment, and full wash still holds on to little oily shadows. No big deal, I guess. It's sanatized at least. No explaination or apology message was sent but I don't know that I should've expected one as it's an embarrassing subject. They also dirtied 5 cups (in one night?) and a couple spoons and left them in the sink without washing or rinsing.