Super Host Status - The seemingly UNACHIEVABLE goal

Mark71
Level 2
Norfolk, VA

Super Host Status - The seemingly UNACHIEVABLE goal

I have been chasing the unachievable for 3 years now. That most mysterious of prestigious clubs, the SUPER HOST.

i follow the rules, I have over 100 5 star reviews, my guests love me so much they bring me gifts! Yet this elusive gold medal on my profile never seems to materialize. 

It haunts my dreams that I am not worthy..........

42 Replies 42
Marit-Anne0
Level 10
Bergen, Norway

@Mark71

I found the sinner

"The host canceled this reservation 31 days before arrival. This is an automated posting."

That will keep you away for a year.

Are you kidding?? ONE cancelled reservation out of 100??  They demand solid gold perfection? 

Have they read my reviews? Have they seen my accommodations? I GET GIFTS! I've hosted international guests who have NEVER been in AMERICA!

They SERIOUSLY need to look at this on a case-by-case basis and not go on STATS alone.  It's discouraging to hosts to GIVE THEIR ALL AND GO ABOVE AND BEYOND.

I've heard that in their market research they found that host cancellations were a HUGE dissatisifier for guests. So yes, Solid Gold perfection on that one.

With over 3million listings, they can't award SuperHost status on a case by case basis; they have to rely on stats. If you must cancel, do so through Airbnb support to see if you qualify for extenuating circumstances, or for good cause (like guests intended to break your house rules) so the cancellation doesn't go on your permanent record. THAT's your chance to be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.

@Allison2 ok crunch those numbers lady!

@Mark71 too bad you can't walk on water, I bet that would help.

I'm not sure if that was an attempt at humor, or a sarcastic quip coming from another host who apparently hasn't hosted nearly the amount of guests nor equivalent accommodations.