City of Chicago Registration

Suzanne122
Level 2
Chicago, IL

City of Chicago Registration

I have been hosting for a year and a half in Chicago. I just got notice from the city that my registration has been denied, due to living in a condo that is on prohibited building lists. Has anyone else gotten a denial and continued to host? The fines if you get caught are pretty steep, but I don't know if they are really policing them yet.

14 Replies 14
Nonya0
Level 2
Chicago, IL

With regards to condos, it the condo assocation who may come after you.  Im a host manager (assist) for several properties but also have a large family.  My sister in law has a condo.  Since I run a service at my home, all our friends and family stays in the family condo.  The condo association assumed that she was running an airbnb in the condo.  They took her to kangaroo court.  We told them over and over, these are family members.  Im one of 9 with a boat load of cousins and she one of 13.  Its gotten so bad that I literally have to have every member of my family that even come in to the apartment and sign a waiver to say they are not booking the condo on airbnb.  I even created a video of each person who spent a day, an hour, a night.  We even told the association that all they need to do is that if there is anybody who 'claim' to be an airbnb, simply ask for the confirmation page.  They have nothing.  But that don't stop them.  

There are a few steps  you can take that may be able to help you but you will have to contact me.  My website is [Link hidden].  You can text me thru there.  

Karen-Sophie0
Level 2
Chicago, IL

Check to see if your association documents disallow short term rentals. If they do not check out an organization called Keep Chicago Liveable or hire their attorney Shorge Sato to represent you to the city.

Matthew356
Level 2
Urbana, IL