Advice

Ana24181
Level 1
England, United Kingdom

Advice

Hi guys, in recent feedback a guest has said a bbq would be beneficial. I am new to the business so was hoping for some advice on what bbqs are the easiest to maintain, clean, and for others to use, as well as being cost effective. Many thanks Ana

5 Replies 5

@Ana24181  Your garden looks like a nice place to have a BBQ. I can't recommend a specific type or brand; only want to caution that as a guest, I find that the BBQ is invariably the feature hosts or their cleaners are likeliest to forget to clean between guests. I've lost count of how many times I've gotten my stuff prepared to take out to the grill, only to lift the hood and discover that it was full of burned-on food, grease, and rodent feces. 

In the first months of hosting, it's normal to be always looking for ways to add value with amenities, but after you've had to deal with time-consuming changeovers and high-mess guests, you switch to finding ways to make your cleaning routine more efficient. Just one thing to keep in mind.

Helen427
Level 10
Auckland, New Zealand

Hello @Ana24181 and welcome to ABB CC from across the lands and seas in Auckland, New Zealand.

You have a delightful rural setting so may I suggest you make one with bricks and on a concrete base so there is less risk of fire spreading.

That way it's also secured down and less likely to be potentially stolen.

Be mindful of your own property security being in a rural setting.

Maybe look at an open fire Pizza type BBQ that can also double as an outdoor fireplace on cooler evenings.

You will need to be specific however about firewood, coal and who pays or provides it.

You may also like to provide details where a Hose is in case of a fire.

Remember to cover all bases with your House Rules.

What year was your home built?

Maybe also include a little about it's history, as it has amazing character to it.

All the best