Air bnb taxes-GST, PST, MRDT

Answered!

Air bnb taxes-GST, PST, MRDT

Morning,

Experts and fellows,

After running Airbnb a few years, I incorporated it in BC. 

Questions:

1. Airbnb platform collects taxes, but have they covered 5% GST,  8% provincial sales tax (PST), and  3% municipal and regional district tax (MRDT)?

2. Any guidelines, articles, links, or advice to share, for the hosts to collect the above-mentioned, if some types of taxes are actually hosts' responsibility?

Thanks in advance!

1 Best Answer
M199
Level 10
South Bruce Peninsula, Canada

@Neill23, @Glenda142

Cdn hosts need to have clarity in case of a CRA audit.  A tax accountant would help explain.  FYI, I have over 30 years if payroll experience, so taxes are simpler for me.  Disclaimer, I am not legally allowed to provide advice.  I  can however relay my  thoughts and ideas.

I have set up my listing in a way that the room rate is the base price and other items such as cleaning and pet fees are noted individually. With regards to various taxes, they need to be itemized correctly.

Below is a print screen of how I have set up the Municipal Accommodation (4% on room rate only) and   GST/HST (13% on all items).  You can find this on your listing under manage your listing (If I am correct).

Another point is that for GST/HST there is a tax benefit if an account earns $7500 per year.  If this happens, there is an input tax credit for business related expenses that can be used to reduce GST/HST payable.

Ultimately, my comments are for information and truly, hosts with little tax accounting experience are well advised to find and hire an experienced professional tax service.

@Neill23, @Glenda142 Ultimately if you have a CRA GST/HST number and register it in the tax section on your Airbnb listing, Airbnb will collect the monies and remit to you as a "pass through total".  Note-you will be required to remit these pass through amounts (taxes collected) based on your remittance requirements.