Long Beach City Inspections

Nitya7
Level 1
Los Angeles, CA

Long Beach City Inspections

Hello!  A friend has a property in Long Beach, CA and has heard recently that the city is visiting a nearby Airbnb property for some sort of inspection....?  Has anyone had any experience with this?  I'm wondering what the inspections are for and how common they are?  I do not live or operate in Long Beach so I have no experience with this with my own property.  I think perhaps there are concerns about a wing or ADU that may have been added to the house but is not permitted.  Would love to hear thoughts and if anyone in Long Beach has had this occur?

Thanks!

7 Replies 7

@Nitya7 

I've no idea of the purpose of this, if indeed it is more than a rumor. Various government entities and agencies can inspect for health and safety, building permits/inspections, zoning, impact on a neighborhood, adequate parking, fire safety, etc. A complaint could trigger an inspection, or a routine date on a calendar. Personally, I think it a good idea. When we were initially permitted by the local government, all the agencies did their due diligence and signed off on our home and property being appropriate, before the public hearings. Our insurance company asked if we had passed all the inspections and has copies of all our permits. Like all responsible businesses serving the public we are subject to being properly permitted and to periodic inspections.This may be different in different locations, we are also in California. 

HI Nitya7, 

I recently tried to renew my permit and was told that they have to do an inspection before they issue a renewal. Have you heard anything about the inspection process?  

Thanks

@Therese-and-Chester0 @Nitya7