Advice for Guest complaint, refund

Alicia269
Level 2
Bangor, PA

Advice for Guest complaint, refund

Hello All,

I am new to Airbnb and would like advice on how to handle my first complaint and refund request.

[Personal details hidden as per the community guidelines]

They checked in at 7 pm, after multiple calls and messages. 

The reservation was for 2 people, master bedroom has AC, all other rooms have ceiling fans. I have not had any complaints regarding it being hot in Condo, however I am working on installing more AC units.

I was not aware wifi had an issue and technician will be called this week.

According to my cleaning personal the Master bedroom, with AC was not used. The 2 bedroom which has queen & Twin bed was used. Total of 5 towels used, which indicated there was more than 2 peope in the Condo.

Cleaning personal also says there is no issue with pool having fungus or dirty water. 

Condo Maintenance personal is working on exterior issues since Hurricane.

My apartment is fully equipped, we'l maintained, cleaned & cared for, I have sent Condo Association a complaint about exterior grounds, however guest did stay the night instead of choosing to leave immediately.

Please provide feedback on how I should handle and respond to this situation.

The paid appx. 50.00 per night & 35.00 cleaning fee total 135.00, they are requesting 85.00 refund.

Your input is greatly appreciated!

4 Replies 4

@Alicia269

i would open a general conversation about their complaint issues and say that you take their issues seriously, and as such have taken the time and trouble to speak to different personnel who attend the property.

Let me know what the cleaner,maintenance people have told you ...maybe ask the guest is they took any photos of the pool/fungus,dirty water .....unusual for people not to take photos with their phones these days...especially when they want to complain