Bad luck, or am I missing something?

Bad luck, or am I missing something?

Hello and Thank You in advance for your advice,

I have never used Airbnb before and have struck out three times trying to book a place for a week in August. (Three separate listings.)  As far as I can tell, I have everything filled out in my profile and have followed  all the directions. I've messaged my potential hosts politely and am ready to put down a deposit - Airbnb has my credit card  and driver's license information and I have a professional looking profile picture. This is for me, my husband and my son, which I fully disclose. 

For my first try, I may have erred by not messaging the host first; though I included a  friendly message in my booking request. This was denied "due to covid". Fair enough (though why is it listed as available?)

The second one I messaged  first and got a response inviting me to book. I thought I had 24 hours to respond, but when I went to confirm and pay near the end of the 24 hours, the host had blocked off the last two days of the week I asked for, which meant that the 7-day-stay discount would no longer apply for the remaining days we had available. So it would have been more expensive, for fewer days. 

The third one I, again, messaged politely. Their profile says they usually respond within 1 hour.  The Airbnb site suggests submitting a reservation while waiting for a response, to secure the reservation. I did so, and 24 hours has run out and I never heard back from them; Airbnb has cancelled the request. 

Have I just had back luck, or is there some point of protocol or etiquette that I am missing? I would have been happy to answer any questions from a potential host. I searched for a Saturday-to-Saturday stay. Is this what hosts prefer? (We have to arrange vacation days from work far in advance and can't really change dates now.) 

Any suggestions  from the point of view of a host would be greatly appreciated.

-Laura 

Laura Blair
14 Replies 14