Being charged extra for Wifi consumption when it was included?

Alberto1574
Level 1
Guate, Guatemala

Being charged extra for Wifi consumption when it was included?

Hello fellow travelers,  I have a question. I'm new to Airbnb. I recently stayed for 2 nights at a very nice house, the hosts where very nice too.  The Airbnb I chose was a private room in a condo, it included a shared bathroom and free wifi. I looked for any restrictions in regard to the wifi but couldn't find any on the listing all. (I use a lot of internet as I download games and movies) I forgot to ask I admit, but I thought it was unlimited since there was no restriction. As I was getting ready to checkout today I was informed by one of the hosts that she had been contacted by her internet company, and that I had used all of their data for the month, that hey had given her extra GB and that I had consumed that too. The company charged her $100 and she asked that I paid that. I really don't know what's the policy on this by Airbnb but as I didn't want any trouble I paid the request for $100 that was sent to me within the app. 

Who is in the right here? Should I have not paid? Should I have paid a percentage of the $100? Any opinions will be greatly appreciated.

4 Replies 4
Brian2036
Level 10
Arkansas, United States

@Alberto1574 

I think you did the right thing and good for you.

As in even high end hotels, “free WiFi” doesn’t mean “free unlimited  WiFi.”

Many of them charge extra for WiFi which is fast enough to be at all useful.

I would agree that the host should make it clear that there are limits and that if guests exceed them they will be charged for it.

Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

@Alberto1574 You didn't need to pay the additional money but it was entirely fair that you did. The host will hopefully update their listing to explain that wifi is expensive (and limited). 

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico