Brutal First Experience as Host

Sam3523
Level 1
Toronto, CA

Brutal First Experience as Host

I was going away for a weekend and thought I'd give it a try and Host my Apartment on AirBnb, and about a week before that weekend I listed it and got a request from a Guest. Being new to the Hosting side, I thought I did my research and while was skeptical of Hosting a Guest fairly new to AirBnb (May 2018) with No Reviews (but Verified), based on research and feedback from other people, I had to start somewhere because it's my first time and I don't have any Reviews either. And so I did.

I did all the research of the Guest once I Confirmed and get her full name but couldn't find much online about her, other than she is who she says she is and where she's from and what she does, a recognized Student from one of her Schools and her Community and a Social Worker.

On the day of the check-in, I met up with her and walked her around the building to show all the amenities, the check-out process and walked her up to the apartment and left.

While I was still skeptical based on her background (not to be prejudicial or racist, far from it), I always think that no matter where people come from they think like myself, a responsible adult who take care of someone else's space (I tuck things away even when I stay at hotels upon checking-out).