Cleaning fees

Answered!
JoJo35
Level 2
Pinellas Park, FL

Cleaning fees

I have a guest asking me if I can reduce my cleaning fee of $50.  They promise to leave the place spotless.  Honestly, I dont feel like doing that but my question is would that be something that comes up.  Im new at this and I have guests already.  Any suggestions?

1 Best Answer
Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA

@JoJo35 I would say no and wish them well finding an accommodation that meets their requirements. And no, this is not something that comes up frequently.

View Best Answer in original post

12 Replies 12
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

@JoJo35   I see the cleaning fee as the set up, not the clean up.  Maybe other hosts will see it differently.  You never want the guest clean up to be sufficient for the next guest.  This is a guest seeking a discount.  Many host feels that guests seeking discounts are usually problematic.  If you are inclined to provide a discount, then offer a special offer and keep your cleaning fee.  

Yes I kept the fee and made a special offer which she declined anyway.  Thank you for your feedback, Im new about a month in and I value the opinions of more experienced hosts.

Lisa723
Level 10
Quilcene, WA

@JoJo35 I would say no and wish them well finding an accommodation that meets their requirements. And no, this is not something that comes up frequently.

Linda-And-Richard0
Level 10
San Antonio, TX

Hey @JoJo35 .  Your nightly rate is only $24.00 per night.  I doubt anyone could find a hotel or motel room for that rate.  Your cleaning fee is very reasonable.   I say stick with your cleaning fee and increase your nightly rates.  As stated before, guests asking for discounts are usually  very demanding and hard to please.  The perfect storm for a bad review.

Thank you,  I did reply back and kept the fee and sent a special offer which they declined anyway.  Yes I feltthe same way, my rate is more than reasonable.  Thank you much

Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10