We're supposed to stay at this small studio in Orlando for a MONTH, but the longer we've been here (it's only been 3 days), the more I don't think we can put up with the conditions of it.
The first thing we noticed after the first day here is that the water from the bathroom sink, kitchen sink, and shower all smell and TASTE like SEWER water.... Our host said that they converted the bathroom from a washer and dryer set up previously. So it's a little suspect about whether good water is being used..
And last night we found a small cockroach near our suitcases!!!! I've lived in warm climates and had cockroach experience, so I know that when there's a small cockroach in the building that there is breeding going on in the walls. Unfortunately, we just killed the cockroach rather than taking a picture first because it was a scared knee-jerk reaction to something so disgusting as a small fast cockroach.
It's just getting to be too much to handle honestly. I just don't think we can handle living her for another 4 weeks. What should we do??
And the worst part is that the host is such a good guy, and you can tell that he's doing this Airbnb because their family needs the extra income. But where do I draw the line of wanting to be kind to someone deserving, and not hating my housing situation because of disgusting water and vermin??
Hi @Kevin, it's very nice of you to recognise the kindness of your host and even think of his finances. On the other hand your concerns are understandable and there's no point of staying in a place where you are not happy especially if you're on your vacation. I would advise you to find another place first before informing your host. I'm sure he will understand your reason.
@Marie thanks for the comment! We are currently looking at a few places right now.
Have you had experience where you've been refunded because of bad conditions? I'm just concerned that we won't be able to get our money back and as a result will have to stay here because we can't really afford to pay for 2 places.