Dirty apartment and mishaps

Dirty apartment and mishaps

Alright. So I'm new to Airbnb, and I'm only on my second guests. 

At the moment, many incidents have been reported by them:

1) a noisy radiator. I've called a technician and even gone over there myself to look for/hear the noise but I've found absolutely nothing. 

2) a broken sink. The tube for the spray nozzle has a mysterious hole. I've assumed that it was because of the water pressure and I've had someone come to temporarily fix it, but they say that it's a tear caused by the guests. I haven't mentioned that I suspect them of causing the problem. 

3) the biggest mishap. We had a terrible storm last night, and during it, the guest's apartment door flew open. But not only did it blow open, but a stray CAT entered and made its home in their bed! And when they tried to get it out, it pooped on their bedsheets! I personally think this is too terrible of an occurrence to blame it on them for leaving the door ajar, but I need help figuring out what to do.

Should I give them a re-fund (they're already paying a drastically discounted price)? A discount (see note) ? Simply give them a box of chocolates as an apology (I've actually already done this...). 

While under normal circumstances, I would give them some type of financial compensation; there's one last thing: the apartment is a total mess. I'm not just talking clothes everywhere, but food all over the house, massive amounts of trash in all of the rooms, bedsheets moved off the beds, dirty pots and pans just left around.. I havent even braved the bathroom and I'm already disgusted. While, sure, cleaning is one thing- but this mess is otherworldly, and will probably cost a huge amount to hire adequate clean up help. 

Thank you for your reply. Any advice is more than welcome. 

8 Replies 8
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Betta3