Guest Complaints, yes plural

Jill536
Level 2
Waterloo, Canada

Guest Complaints, yes plural

Sorry for the length of this scenario......I have been renting my condo for 6 years and have never had an issue.  Only 2 rentals via Airbnb; this is number 2.  An employer rented our unit for two of her employees, and assured us that their jobs depended on their commitment to treat our condo with respect., and to abide by the condo rules, etc etc.. 

Day two, I contacted them about the air conditioner.  I have wifi access so we can monitor it remotely when no one is in there for various reasons, such as receiving an alert if it isn’t working.  We are in a State where we must have thenAC unit running all year round or we will have mould issues.  They had set the AC on Hold 60.  We were of course worried that they were going to freeze the unit, not only what the electric bill would look like.  There is no reason to keep a place that Cold.  They agreed to allow me to set a schedule and I must note that I have scheduled it, must colder than I think is necessary, but I’m not that kind of owner to enforce a temp that they would feel uncomfortable with.

Week one, back in Mid-June we received a complaint from the condo manager who shared pictures of an entire coffee spilled in the doorway of our unit with footprints all the way to the elevator.  They walked through the spill and never looked back in addition to ignoring the stain thereafter, until I asked them to clean it up.  They did clean the spill immediately but I had to contact them again the next day to instruct them to also clean up the footprints.  This was alarming as we wondered how anyone could do such a thing.  It seemed that they literally didn’t care at all.

Yesterday, we received formal complaint number two.  They have been throwing cigarette butts off the balcony and there are so many that the yard maintenance staff reported it to the office.  The real concern here is that this is a non-smoking unit!!