Guest receiving mail

Guest receiving mail

Hi everyone.  I am fairly new to the Airbnb community.  I only began this venture July 2017.  Well, here is the latest regarding guest receiving mail at the property! 

My guest booked 3 people for 19 days.  Now at week 2, he/she has gone to the SSA, applied for social security cards (using my address) and having registered mail of those documents sent to my home.   Now  you may ask, how I discovered this?  As fate would have it.  I was around to intercept the mail and there were 2 pieces of mail from the SSA containing social security cards.  No, I did not open them, because that would be illegal.  However, I have much experience in how the documents look through the window envelope.   I was shocked!  As of this morning, I reported the incident to Airbnb representatives.  I was told that there is no precedent for this type of incident.  So, as of now, I am awaiting further instructions.   

I have thought of physically walking the mail back to the SSA along with my ownership paperwork.  Does anyone have any suggestions?  They are there for another week.  

Sheila

15 Replies 15
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

Your guests are not tenants, @Sheila175, and do not have the rights of a tenant.  They cannot use the address as their own.  Send a message via Air BNB message system that your address is not to be given out to ANYONE, period and you will return anything addresssed to them.  Do not accept mail or packages.  Return to sender, including SSA.  You might suggest they cancel their reservation and relocate.

You are probably aware that  getting mail at an address can be used to establish residency or eligibility for benefits. 

Thanks for the prompt response, @Linda108!  I have no idea of their intent!  However, I do know when something smells fishy.  And this one has all the signs of something fishy.