How to tell if an inquiry is real

How to tell if an inquiry is real

Hi.  I am new to AirBNB.  I have my house posted for the Ryder Cup that will be in MN at the end of Sept.  I was interested in primarily only renting it this week at the inflated market rate for the event.  I received an inquiry requesting to stay Labor Day weekend and they stated they are ok with the rate.  It is a 3400sqft home and it appears they only have 2 guests and they stated they need the space.  Trying to find reviews on this guest, I learn they have only been members since March (not a huge deal, we are all new at some point), however I see the wish list and most places are smaller in size at a much lower rate.

My questions are, what is the proper way to screen through here on a new member? Are their plenty of fakes/flakes/scammers on Airbnb like there maybe elsewhere?

11 Replies 11
Melanie58
Level 10
Boise, ID

As far as scammers, it would be uncommon for a financial scam to take place inside the system.  Airbnb verifies the credit card # given, and won't let the booking complete until a verified card is on file.  A scam could occur outside the system, so if a guest says "actually could you cancel the reservation and let me pay cash", etc. that is a bad sign.

As far as whether the 2 people booking are really booking alone, that is harder to ascertain.  Labor day weekend.  The first picture of your house is of a pool table, big TV, and Beer sign?  2 people need the space?  

So, I think you could maybe figure out their real intentions by writing into your house rules some stuff that would scare people with the intention of throwing a raging party like:

-booking will not be approved until the make/model/color and license plate # of any vehicle that will be on the premises is provided.

-no more than 2 vehicles are allowed at the property.

-Quiet hours are 10pm-8am

etc etc.

Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom