I am new to Airbnb! My first guest is a foreigner? How do i ensure safe and smooth transaction?

I am new to Airbnb! My first guest is a foreigner? How do i ensure safe and smooth transaction?

The guest happens to be a lady and she is travelling alone. I stay about 2000 Km from the listed place. How do i ensure that the guest is the person who she says she is. How can I ensure that I do not suffer any losses or damages to my property and that the guest will vacate my apartment on the last day. Am I covered for any damages?

4 Replies 4
Linda108
Level 10
La Quinta, CA

@Hansraj0   If you are not there to greet and orient your guest, how does the guest gain access?  Is there self check-in? What about after the guest checks out?  Who inspects the property after the guest leaves?  

Do you have a security deposit?  Are you familiar with Host Protection?  Hope you can read up on how this platform works so you can feel more comfortable.

I have informed her that i stay veryfar and that I will be coming to the apartment only to get the apaprtent ready for her.  If it is a lady i plan to take the flight and be there when she checks in. for gents I guess they can manage. But at all times i have decided that i will inform guests that I stay far and will come down only if needed. 

The facility is part of an apartment block and we do have a caretaker to manage things....so till things settle down and I am able to find a co-host, guess i will have to ask the caretaker to help out. I have a cleaning agency that will clean the facility before a guest checks in. I can manage this from where I am staying.

I do have a security deposit. But does Airbnb offer any cover?

I will definitely read up on host protection...thnx for pointing it out

José70
Level 5
Lisbon, Portugal