Do you put locks on bedroom doors?

Answered!

Do you put locks on bedroom doors?

Hi everyone, I'm new to hosting on Air B&B and just wondered if you all had locks on your bedroom door and also the guests bedroom door? Is this compulsory? I guess I'm quite trusting. If you do have them please could you suggest what would be best - I have a new house with lovely doors so wouldn't want something too intrusive or that doesn't look nice. Any help would be appreciated 🙂

Thanks

Louise

1 Best Answer
Breanna
Community Manager
Community Manager
Pontefract, United Kingdom

Hi everyone,

You can learn more about Airbnb's recommendations on locks by reviewing this Airbnb Help Center article: Bedroom and bathroom locks for your Room listing.

Please note that this content has been archived.

You can still access if if you have the link but it won't appear when you search on the Community Center.

To ask a new question just click below:

Stephanie_0-1677152405466.png

Thanks

-----

Please follow the Community Guidelines

View Best Answer in original post

37 Replies 37

Hi @Louise0, I put locks in my guest's bedroom. I take into consideration that there are so many different types of people, some of which have privacy concerns and other have safety concerns. I think it's best to give guests the option to lock their doors.

I've thought about giving guests keys to their bedroom door but this is just an illusion of security.  A host who has a key could easily have duplicates and let themselves in anyway.

Sorry I missed part of your question. I also lock my own bedroom door just because you never know what could happen. I just use plain regular door knobs. However, I use an electronic door lock I purchased from Amazon for about 50 bucks or so for the main entrance to the apartment.
Cynthia-and-Chris1
Level 10
Vancouver, WA