Rental agreement?

Miranda250
Level 2
California, United States

Rental agreement?

I’m new to hosting… I have spent hours reading thru the forums and I am frankly disappointed and discouraged at the horror stories. In short… I will not accept instant bookings, I will try to screen for red flags, take only verified guests with reviews, I have very specific house rules with expects…and not rely on Airbnb protection as many of you have said it’s laughable.

I am looking at a different platform for direct booking that allows a deposit and rental agreement. And no service fees.

The more I learn … many of those hosts still use Airbnb vrbo etc to get bookings and then hope to have repeat guests book direct. I really would love to have all direct bookings with control over my home … but from an investment standpoint I need more bookings.

I was under the impression you can’t  have a signed rental agreement with Airbnb….HOWEVER I am learning  some hosts do request guest sign one, Is this legal? 

how do you facilitate this if you dont have personal email info? what electronic forms do people use for this?

what about government issued id? I know I can choose to host verified ID guests only, it is illegal to collect ID otherwise? 

I appreciate all advice, thanks in advance!!

miranda

3 Replies 3
Basha0
Level 10
Penngrove, CA

You can always ask for an email to send them house info and an agreement to sign. You are not asking for money so there really isn’t an issue. If someone doesn’t want to do that ask them how they would like to receive the information. 

Elaine701
Level 10
Balearic Islands, Spain

@Miranda250 

Yes, as with any booking platform, it's important that you get past the flowery rhetoric, and realise that in all practical senses, it's just a booking platform. Don't expect anything else.