Renting private rooms in a house without onsite host?

Maureen-And-Cathy0
Level 2
Christ Church, Barbados

Renting private rooms in a house without onsite host?

Hi,

I have been renting private rooms in my house for the past three months and it has been a wonderful experience. Fantastic guests who have become my friends.

My dilemma is this.

My teenage sons have a 3 bedroom house their father left them. It has been empty or 6 years. They have asked me to furnish it so they can rent it on Airbnb. We should be ready to list it in a week or two since we have had to furnish from scratch.

I have found that it is most profitable to rent individual rooms, just as I do with the spare rooms in my house. However in my house I am the onsite host. Guests respect me and the other visitors. When we list the children's property there will be no onsite host.

I don't want to restrict it to families who want a three bedroom house because we will not get enough bookings. I have never even had an inquiry for two bedroms, but I have been booked solidly from September 6 to March 13 with individual room bookings. 

I am thinking of restricting the bookings to female guests or couples only. So far I have only had two single male guests and though both were fun in their own way, each was more demanding than the female guests and couples who I have hosted. I also worry about inappropriate behaviour from single male guests to any female guests. I know this is very prejudiced of me but I won't be onsite so I worry about this.

Does anyone rent out individual rooms in a house where they do not live? How has it worked out? 

Thankful for any insight.

Cathy

10 Replies 10
Dave-and-Deb0
Level 10
Edmonton, Canada

I can't wait to see the response to this question.