service dog

Barb6
Level 10
Stevensville, MI

service dog

This is from a potential guest.

I have a seizure disorder and have a service animal that is trained to get help and assist me in case of a problem. Autumnis a Lagotto Romagnolo dog ~30lbs. She is extremely friendly and she does not shed at all, and does not produce any dander either. And I just gave her a bath so she smells lovely, even though she doesn't really ever smell bad.
I know that technically I didn't have to say anything and you can't refuse based on the service animal but I just wanted to let you know and will let you decide whether you can accommodate. I hope to hear from you soon!

On Profile page of potential guest.
I am a 4th year medical student. My girlfriend is an attorney. We have an amazing little furball named Autumn. She is a tiny 30lb Lagotto Romagnolo and is training to be a truffle hunter!

I have a no pet policy. What are my choices here? 

64 Replies 64
Betsy195
Level 2
Puerto Morelos, Mexico

I got a reservation last night and the guest asked if I was ok with her service animal.  I didn't answer yes or no, I just asked if the animal would be  home alone or would leave when she left.  She said the animal would stay with her.   I was hoping to hear more about her and the dog and provide useful information about our location so should could make her own choice about staying....We have a no pet policy but I've made exceptions for plain old pets in the past.  But then she cancelled the reservation.  Is this called "fishing" ? Is she looking for people to answer this question incorrectly?    

Here is the conversation:  

Jen6:48 PM
Good evening! I am coming to be around family for the holidays and I’m excited to come back to Durham 🙂 I do travel with a well trained service animal. Roxy is not a pet. She is a certified service animal. She goes where I go, but please let me know if that will be an issue in the cottage.

Jen9:07 PM