$1,500 in damages but the host guarantee won't cover it

Answered!

$1,500 in damages but the host guarantee won't cover it

Hello all!

I'm hoping someone can guide me here. It is my first time handling damages that totalled more than $400-$500, you know the usual, broken plates, towels, bed linens, etc.

This guest broke my range oven which cost more than $3,200 and had to buy a replacement for half the cost while dancing on top of it. They texted me early morning to let me know an accident had happened but their reservation wasn't yet complete, 2 more nights ahead of them.

I immediately call Airbnb for guidance, I was advice to submit a request with a receipt of purchase and to host them since I would be covered. I did, I requested the amount that totaled the oven and involved airbnb after 72 hrs.  Now, the guest left, had not accept the charges and airbnb wants to pay less than 50% of our damages ($649).  I have guests landing today, I can't afford to loose that money in damages made by the guest. I have decline the payout and requested the case manager to advice for the next steps.

Please if anyone knows, or have been through this I would highly appreciate any help or guidance with this host guarantee program and what to do with my upcoming guest. 

Thank you! 

1 Best Answer
Ian-And-Anne-Marie0
Level 10
Kendal, United Kingdom

@Gigi69 @Jonathan6 @Ana1136 @Lisa723 

What the heck ?!!

The guests BROKE the Range. They need to pay to get it fixed, and NOT at a cost that they'd 'like' to fix it for BUT the cost IT ACTUALLY COSTS ! All of a sudden are they experts in Range replacement costs?

Forget depreciation. Thats a benefit to the owner for the investment - not the guest. Thats how the owner mitigates the low cost of rental. If ABB want to challenge this, have a loss adjuster sent out in a 12 hour time span! The owner doesn't want the hassle of the breakage, the guest fu***d up.. Their fault!

Sometimes, I think people need to grasp on reality.