Blocking Security camera view to sneak in extra guest

Judy508
Level 2
Dunedin, FL

Blocking Security camera view to sneak in extra guest

I'm new to Airbnb and hosting my 3rd group of guests. My home only allows for 4 people, clearly stated on my listing. When the guests checked in, they brought 5 people. I told them the 5th person could not stay. They said, OK he will go somewhere else to stay. Later that same evening, all 5 left for dinner as recorded on my RIng at the front door. After dinner, they came back and one of the guests obviously blocked the Ring by standing in front of it so that, I presume, they could sneak the extra guest in. I went over there today to make sure everything was ok for them, and I could not see the extra guest, but the doors to both bedrooms were closed and I didn't demand to search the house! LOL

What should I do? They clearly violated my house rule to not block the security camera. Accident? I think not. But I can't prove any of it. If they block it again tonight after they come back from dinner, should I say something? Suggestions, please!

13 Replies 13
Ian-And-Anne-Marie0
Level 10
Kendal, United Kingdom

@Judy508 

They clearly violated my house rule to not block the security camera.

Breaking House Rules is a reason to ask the guests to leave. your other posting makes this an easy option as they offered to leave already.

For a letting platform historically based on trust there's an awful lot of untrustworthy guests using it !

Kaylee18
Level 10
Hamilton, Canada

@Judy508  You can always look into adding additional costs for additional guests, unless your accommodation does not have enough room for 5. 

This is a tricky one because I would think you need some proof that the 5th person was actually there and staying (which I am sure you are right, he probably was!).