Business License?

Jenell0
Level 2
Seattle, WA

Business License?

I have a few airbnb unit listings now... Considering getting a business license (State of Washington) Any other hosts have insight as to whether this is necessary, good idea/bad idea, etc??

Thank you!!

6 Replies 6
Esther285
Level 2
Hampton, VA

In my city in Virginia, this is a requirement.  I do not know if Washington State has the same. We pay monthly taxes and lodging fees to the city and receive tax documents at the end of the year.  Since my yearly AirBnb income is minor (comparatively speaking to most larger hotel type establishments) my liscense cost $50 a year. With regards to having multiple listings, I would be curious if you would be able to deduct expenses for the properties and depreciate at tax time.  I only have one room I let, so really haven't worried about that side of the equation but for someone in your situation, this could be a benefit.

Nadira3
Level 2
New York, United States

I'm new to Airbnb, and also curious about it. Living in NYC

Laura2787
Level 2
Kirkland, WA

I am curious Jenell, if you have applied yet? What kind of business structure did you choose. I am in Kirkland, WA and in the process of applying. Yet I need help to figure out what kind of business structure I need to apply for? The City is not helping:(

Sunjida0
Level 1
Leicester, United Kingdom

I am new as a host in the UK. Can anyone enlighten me about what kind of license I need to have for listing my rented property?

Sammi7
Level 2
Jersey City, NJ